RSS

First Year at VESIT

10 Sep

I joined engineering on 1st September 2010. Vivekanand Education Society’s Institute of Technology (VESIT), it was. This is a note, a draft, in which I have tried to wrap all the “things” that happened to me in this institute.

1. Day one, Pre-Praxis for F.Es. Had a lot of fun. Saw a few known faces. Was glad.🙂 Saw the whole college on the very first day. At the end of the day, there was dance selection for the fresher eve. Met a group of 8-10 people there from my class. It was one of the most happening day as a fresher.

The first day at VESIT

The first meet can will leave an impression. Be careful. You need to behave well.

2. Then came the day of fresher’s eve. It was an amazing day with a lot of introduction – to teachers, seniors, class-mates. We bagged accolades in group dance, impromptu, etc. I was very happy to be the part of that team, more importantly, a part of the class who bagged number 1 spot on that eve. ( PS: VESIT CMPN seniors know why I did mention that win😛😉 ) In that time period, I learnt how to be a part of the team. How to *listen* to people and co-ordinate.

Fresher’s Eve

You can never will alone in a team game/event. If you can’t contribute for your team, your team will never win, nor will you.

3. Days, weeks, months passed by. Lectures, journals, assignments came on and on and on. According to what I remember, I have never written so much in such a small time. Journals were the worst part and assignments weren’t bearable either. The syllabus, err…er…let’s not talk about it! We celebrated colour day. It was awesome to see the enthusiasm the whole class showed that day. :) Then came September, the month I love (various reasons :P). I got exposed to the technical festival of VESIT, Praxis. It went well, I assisted seniors in making bots for robo-wars, robo-soccer, etc. Learnt a lot from them, a lot indeed. Participated in lot of competitions Brainwave, Renaissance, Suprema C, Swat the Bug, Bridge the Gap, etc. A lot of learning was done. I got the feel of being into an engineering college. Praxis ended on a high-note. My first technical festival. Till the time I realized I need to start studying, our preliminary time table was up on the notice board.😀 Got awful grades. Then we had submissions, vivas, practicals. ‘People without heart, exist’ and they are called externals.😀 Somehow, I managed to clear the practicals.

Preparation for viva

Then a month long preparatory leave (PL, as they call it!) started. Did all I could in that one month and gave my first engineering examination. The exam, which lasted for a month. Ups and Downs. Awful papers. Oh-So-Less time, etc. Been there, had it all. And the semester ended with a blast! CP1, The paper which broke many hearts. Somehow, I liked the paper. Would have discussed more about the paper if my score would have been decent😛 Semester 1 ended. #s1 ends.

Life is not a fair game, and you would not have had enjoyed if it had been one. So accept the hurdles.  Look up, brave yourself, and get a head-way through.

4. On 29th December (not sure about the date) our 10-15days vacation started. To the ones who are giggling out there, yes 15 days vacation is what MU students get. Stop laughing now! Semester 2, or #s2 started. Things were slow initially, but, gradually they did pace up. I did attend a lot of seminars and workshops. Joined Thinklabs IIT-B. Got to do a lot of things practically. Things were smooth. Then came Technovanza (Technical festival of VJTI). Did participate, win and most importantly, learnt a lot. I have always been thankful to my VJTI seniors. I do look upto them.

You are blessed with seniors. Ask them, ask them again, ask once more and they *will* help. You get to learn a lot from them. Believe it or not, 80% of knowledge and inspiration comes from seniors. There are two types of seniors. The ones whom we respect, and the others. Choose well.

5. #s2 was more eventful. Sphurti, sports fest of VESIT was in the month of march. Enjoyed it a lot. Played volley-ball for my class (D2). We did not win, but I got to know what it means to lose. I tasted the flavour of defeat, the flavour of togetherness, the flavour of life.

Girls Cricket Team

Sport may teach you how to lose, but, it will surely teach you how not to be a loser.

6. Then came our traditional day. A day where I got to know about the sect. About the integrity. I know this is getting a bit too much, but, sometimes its okay to get sentimental😀😉 Clicked a lot of pictures with classmates. A lot of fun. A day to be remembered.

Traditional Day

Time, be it good or bad, does not stay. We need to bend in the direction the wind blows. If you don’t, nobody will say anything. Because, people hardly care. Accept it.

7. Once again, happened with me the thing that always happens, before I could realize its time to study, the timetable was on the board😀 (somethings never change😉 ). Again, awful score. Vivas, practicals, assignments, etc. PL again and then, a month long exam. Had enough of the first year. The results were bad, extremely bad. Got an average of 62.5% in the first year.
All in all, it was a nice year. Had a lot of fun. Did a bit of learning and a lot of mugging too.😛
At the end I can say, it was a sort of year every to-be-engineer does not seem to plan😀😉

Never Quit. Stay Strong.

There are events, when you feel giving up is the only choice. But, stick by things, let them be bad. A day will come with a bright ray of light and you *will* succeed. Just don’t give up. You always have a NO, take the risk for a YES🙂



PS: I am glad to have someone who was/is/will always be there for me, throughout. I love and respect you.

The Freshmen Year Ends. 
 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “First Year at VESIT

  1. ANUJ SHAKARANI

    September 10, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    awesum dude really nice. bt whos dat special 1?chupa rustom

     
    • kunjkaria

      September 11, 2011 at 7:41 am

      ab mai kaise maan lu ki ab tak tujhe pata nahi chala hoga about that special one😛 ;D

       

Leave a Reply

 
