RSS

Why This, not That.

14 Nov

On festive occasions like Diwali, I am asked to touch elders’ feet. I don’t agree to that because I don’t get the logic. Instead why not smile and give a heartfelt hug!

Most of my friends who will be reading this have read Chetan Bhagat. So let me tell you what this post is not.

  • It is not to oppose any one. Do not take it personally, even if at any point you feel like.
  • This post is not to express any sort of hatred for any corporate giant.
  • I am happy with your decision of joining any company, if you are happy.

Like most other engineers, even I visualized myself working for a big company, as an employee. This was way back since 11th grade. I was decent at academics and was involved in projects. I always visited the seminars/conference happening in and around the city and kept in touch with my seniors. Accumulated all the gyaan I could. I met lots of people of all age groups at those conferences. Got to talk to them, got to see how they work, how they think and share. I tried to gather as much as I could in that time. One day, after almost five years of being into all this, I asked myself – Do I really want to do this?

My dad is a businessman and I have seen the way he works, the way he thinks and shares. I couldn’t stop myself from comparing the lives of the people I met at various conferences/seminars/events, and my dad’s.

That wasn’t enough. After that comparison, there was a need to know what actually will suit me. I did a bit of introspection. Realized that I am a person who will complete a task as per my wish.

In time? Yes.
Will I compromise on the quality of the output? No.
I will accept I don’t know how to do something, and then, will figure out a way to learn it and get back.
People who know me well would agree to this.

But, I like to plan things my way because that will suit the execution. At the end, not just planning but execution is what matters. I realized I am more of a “I” person. Now that doesn’t sound cool to you I know, but, I ain’t even trying to be the cool one here.

Frankly, but with all the humbleness, I say, I need my space. And I have the courage to admit to that.

I don’t want people to tell me I cannot do something because it is immoral to them.
I don’t want people to ask me to behave in a particular way because they think it is wise that ways. I will listen to you, think over it, and accept it if I find it morally or ethically right and justifiable. I will change my way and also apologize when needed, but I won’t do any of that if I don’t find logic behind it. This attitude doesn’t suit to those corporate giants. 
This may help elaborating my point.

Many asked me why ain’t I planning to join a corporate company after these years of going-to-conferences, making projects, getting involved with coding and putting so much time and efforts behind it. Why am I not making the most of my investment.

Do I regret investing so much time? No.
Why? Because I got a lot of experience (believe you me, it was a lot, indeed) and saw how things work.

At corporate firms, people are good but the situation they are in, makes them compete with everyone around. Yes, competition is healthy but it shouldn’t be plagued by hypocrisy, envy or prejudice. Moreover, the competition should be only with oneself is what I believe.
Again, let’s agree that I ain’t fretting over anything or trying to give-up on any sort of hurdles I might face in the process. I read this today and want to quote,

Life does not test you with hurdles. Hurdles are there merely to keep you in better shape. What life really tests you with are distractions.

-Ishani Chaudhary.

And I ain’t claiming there is no competition in business. On the contrary, business is full of competition. I am just trying to say that I want to compete only with myself and want to do it the way I would like to do it. You may say that this is exactly what you do at your company, but from where I see, there is a difference.

Also, the business I plan to do has nothing to do with my computer engineering knowledge that I gained so far. But it has a lot to do with the learning and understanding I have done so far, and plan to keep doing. Yes, I will have to learn a completely new thing altogether but isn’t that what life is all about! I will have to start afresh and then gradually catch up with the pace but I ain’t worried about it.

Also, running your own business gives you a sense of freedom. I don’t have a “work till 40 and then enjoy life” plan.
I want to go surfing whenever I want to, play a sport on daily basis, paint whenever I want to, take a sabbatical whenever I want, go around the city cycling. I want to watch my favorite show with my family. I am really okay if I don’t have a huge king-size life (doesn’t mean my goals are low either), but I want a fruitful one. I know it is easier said than done but I want to live with a sense of freedom and a measured goal. I don’t promise to be a Ambani or a Birla in next 20 years or even anywhere close to them, but I want to make a promise to myself that how much ever I make at the end of the day, I want to be satisfied and live with peace.

There is no perfect world, but there is hope, and as I always say,

Diligence is the need of the moment.

Agreement is amicable.

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Why This, not That.

  1. Apurva

    November 15, 2013 at 11:29 am

    I agree completely!! 🙂 being a fellow engineer and having opted out of the corporate world myself, I can vouch for the fact that there is no joy out there any more…good luck for your future! 🙂

     
    • kunjkaria

      November 15, 2013 at 11:31 am

      Thanks for the read, Apurva. 🙂
      All the best to you too. Cheers!

       
  2. Akash

    November 29, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    A good one Bhai! 🙂

     
    • kunjkaria

      November 29, 2013 at 4:53 pm

      Thanks brother. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
