RSS

Week 1: The One with Hello Namma Bengaluru!

12 Jun

Hola!

Final year engineering exams ended on 1st June, finally! I had to leave for Bangalore on 4th June, for that would be my first day interning with Fybr. Basically, all I had in Mumbai was a window of 2 days, during which I had to meet relatives, meet friends, pack and leave for Bangalore.

On 3rd June I went to Marine drive, for capturing sunset with my new DSLR Canon 600d. Marine drive is not just a place. It is an experience! I’ve spent lots of hours there, mostly sunsets with my musings or late night star gazing. Everything dissolves in meaninglessness when you realize that impermanence is a real thing, that nothing at all stays for forever. And all you can do is take time to get over that fact, without being able to change it. It was my last sunset there for at least the next two months. And it struck me that day while I was looking at the sunset picture on the camera screen. It struck me how I will only be able to see it on the camera screen and how badly I was going to miss it. Jason Silva says that beautiful things can make us sad, because we know of their ephemeral nature. Here is that picture I’m talking about

Send-off sunset

I did not sleep that night and left for Bangalore at 4am in the morning. I was aware of the traffic that the city had to offer but did not expect to be stuck in traffic at 8am in the morning!

I had booked a room at a PG and I reached there by 10am. Reaching office would have been a pain had I not got a cycle for rent. So yes, I go to office cycling everyday. It is just 5-6kms from the place where I stay. Since it was my first day at the office, things winded up quite early for me and I was free in the evening. That’s when I went to Ulsoor lake. At the lake I saw the longest kayak I have seen till date. Fascinated by the view, I started clicking pictures till a guy patted my shoulder and I turned to see a army jawan go – “Who you? Why you click? Name?”

He asked me to not click pictures since it was an army base for training. I clicked a picture of him when he was leaving. It’s fun that way, you know! 😛

Picture of the army jawan who asked me to not take pictures there. :D

I returned to my room, had dinner and called it a night!

Met a few friends, friends of friends and friends of friends of friends (yeah, lots of people) over the weekend at Toit Pub. The weekend was good. Temperature does not go over 30 degrees in Bangalore and it is not humid, so the weather is awesome! Clear skies from morning till evening, a bit of drizzling in the evening and serene at night.

 

 

IMG_20150610_194532

Screenshot from 2015-06-12 15:17:23

On a totally unrelated note, I got to know there is no U.S. Visa Consusate in Bangalore. Thus, I had to reserve a date at Mumbai branch. So I am coming back to Mumbai on 21st, for a couple of days! Yay!

PS: It’s not easy to live in a new city, all by yourself. It might sound exciting initially, but you end up missing home within a week. Well, at least a bit.
PPS: Bangalore me kisiko chaat banana nahi aata.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2015 in Zindagy Weekly

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Week 1: The One with Hello Namma Bengaluru!

  1. Akash

    June 12, 2015 at 4:42 pm

    If Bangalore did this to you, imagine being alone in the US, all by yourself dude! Learn and enjoy the company of yourself! Its the best you can ever have! 😀

     
    • kunjkaria

      June 12, 2015 at 4:45 pm

      So true, Patil! Quite excited to come to New York! 😀

       
      • Akash

        June 12, 2015 at 4:47 pm

        In NY, live the life lived by F.R.I.E.N.D.S.!

         
      • Akash

        June 12, 2015 at 6:02 pm

        Aaja Bhai jaldi se idhar!

         
  2. Rishi

    June 13, 2015 at 4:49 am

    Sriram Chat Center – Malleshwaram

     
    • kunjkaria

      June 13, 2015 at 5:49 am

      Will go to that place today!

       
  3. Priya

    July 24, 2015 at 11:34 am

    There is this place very close to Sanky Tank where you get great chaat. It is at the Stella Mary’s signal.. the one where 6 roads meet? This place is right below Lakme.. kind of like a shack under the stairway that leads to Lakme). Check it out.. it serves the best chaat in all of Bangalore.

     

Leave a Reply

 
