RSS

Week 2: The One with Work-Life balance

17 Jun

Bangalore did treat me well in the first week, but the work-life balance was missing. I was expecting more work than I was given in that week, which should – from an engineer’s point of view – be considered ideal, but that did not happen. Also, I did not enjoy the “life”, or let me use a better word – “freedom”, part of living alone in a new city.

But as the 2nd week started, I was given a lot of work. A LOT of work. I already attended my first “intercontinental” meeting yesterday. Yay! It feels good to be a part of an organization which is trying to solve a real time world problem. My company, yes I’ve started using the word “my” already, does not have “You-got-to-wear-formals” or “You-got-to-come-by-9am” rules. We work when we want to, and I end up working ~60 hours per week now. I don’t work on Sundays, and work from home on Saturdays. One can’t ask for more!

So, I went exploring the city last Saturday. The area I went to this time was Malleshwaram. It has some insane food joints! I went to Sanky Tank lake and Mallikarjuna Swamy temple.

IMG_20150613_202956

In my last week’s post I remember saying “Bangalore me kisiko chaat banana nahi aata!”

Well, I take my words back. Sri Sairam’s Chat and Juice Center serves infinite chat! They have 99 chaat items on their menu. Of those, I had –

1. Bun nippet with Samosa and cheese

20150613_170553-1

2. Disco Chaat

20150613_170054-1

Crazy names, right! Well they also have a dish named “Crazy”. They’re cool that way!

Post that foodgasmic (I know that’s not a word, but its completely appropriate here) trip, I went to Sanky Tank. It is a lake surrounded by a garden. How’s the lake you’d ask? Have a look –

IMG_0219
IMG_0240
IMG_0242
20150613_180608

This is how it looks. Insane, right! It was so calm out there! An evening spent well!

This lake is surrounded by Sanky Tank garden. It’s a beautiful place.

IMG_20150613_220314

I came back to my place by 9ish. The next day was spent designing and developing a website for the PG where I stay. A good way to make some quick bucks while doing what you don’t mind doing in your free time.

PS: If you are in Bangalore, GO TO SRI SAIRAM CHAAT!
PPS: I am coming to Mumbai this weekend! Let’s meet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2015 in Zindagy Weekly

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Week 2: The One with Work-Life balance

  1. Anu

    June 17, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Good narrative flow and great pictures!🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
