RSS

Week 12: The One with Three And Half Months In One

31 Dec

Last blog-post I wrote was on 8th September, 2015. That was the start of my first semester at New York University and boy was this one hell of a ride! Ticked off most of the things on the To-Do list – an important one that I made before coming to NYU.

I cannot blame the semester because it wasn’t heavy at all, a tad bit in the end maybe. I’ve been a lot more lazier than I expected myself to be, but things can only get better from hereon.

Since more than 3 months are involved, let’s go with one month at a time.

September: Figuring out things.

This month past by in a wink. The size of issues faced ranged from “How am I going to survive in this whole new world, all by myself” to “Where is my left sock.” This month taught me to adjust with people, with situations and with frozen parathas. This is the month when I found a decently paying part-time job and a good place to stay.

_MG_2809
A usual Monday morning at NYU

_MG_2383
Typical NYC

20150927_201219    20151019_173238
Sake and Milk. Trust me, you need both of these to survive this city.

October: Settling in.

Not everyone can adjust to new places and new people so soon. I’m not one of those people. I gel up quickly with strangers. Rather, barring a few, I gel up well only with strangers. But this was the month where I started missing Mumbai, my place, my family. A bit, but yes, I did. I realized how much ever busy I might get, there will always be one part of me which will make me give my parents a call, at least once a week, even if it is for 10 minutes. I realized how we, albeit being so strong, are weak emotionally. This was the month when New York became my new home and I started calling it my city. In NY, people are at extremes. Either they are damn rude or they are very sweet and caring. There is no midway. Extreme emotions! It took me time to adjust with the pace of this city, but I got there.

Live in New York once, but leave before it makes you hard.
                                                                                  – Mary Schmich

_MG_2822
Fall’s here!

November: The lull.

To be honest, I don’t remember doing anything in this month. I remember going to college for lectures, attending project meetings for hours, trying to figure out what was to be made for dinner. Yes, this month was almost futile. Also, I was ill for at least 15 days.

December: The month of excitement!

This is the month I’ll never forget. I got an internship at Morgan Stanley. Gave my first finals at NYU. Let’s not talk more about the exams.
Post exams, we celebrated the end of our first semester. I explored a bit more of New York City. Did all the tourist-y things in the city.

20151227_111926

Will leave the city that never sleeps on 31st December 2015 and land in the city of dreams on 1st Jan 2016.

PS: At the moment, life is awesome.

PPS: Dying to eat butter sada with kaapi at Madras Cafe.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 31, 2015 in Zindagy Weekly

 

Leave a Reply

 
