RSS

Forty years

22 Apr

Calendar

On a noctivagus stroll
I enter a 24 x 7 gift shop,

A calendar on the wall,
with heartbreaks
on every date

Searching through the shelf of cards
he turned and asked me –
“Do you like this card?”
And I almost did not notice
he was talking to me,
I looked and nodded and asked
“For whom is it?”,
“For the lady I love since
forty years”,
Envied her but smiled at him
“She’s lucky I say”

He paused for a while,
Walked to the calendar
and drew a broken heart
on that day’s date

Walking back to me, pulling out my picture
from his wallet, he said –
“She’s lucky you say,
But it isn’t my lucky day today”

~KK

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2016 in Poems

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
