RSS

Week 30: The One with the Silvas

18 May

A lot of things happened this week!

I went for my first breakfast date. Yes, that is a thing! Had lovely food with awesome company at Cafe Henri, followed by walks around the waterfront across Manhattan skyline. Cafe Henri serves amazing breakfast!

IMG_20160510_212418

Wednesday work shift ended at 7pm and I went to another date, this time with a girl from Mexico. I won’t tell you the first name but her surname is Silva. Yes, she is one of the Silvas I met this week. We had a coffee atย the Top of the Rock – Rockefeller Center. That was my first time at one of the tallest towers of New York. The weather was perfect – neither too cold nor too hot. I learnt a bit of Spanish that night. Or well, let’s just say I can flirt in Spanish now.

That’s how NYC looked from the Top of the Rock that night.

IMG-20160512-WA0016

I met amazing people at PH-D Rooftop Lounge. Spanish, Mexican, German, Ukrainian, Indian – all of them in one frame! This happens only in NYC.

IMG_20160513_194824

The week ended on a high and I had final exams on Monday and Tuesday. Already got my first A at NYU this semester. Yay! 2 more grades to come in next couple of days.

NYU had Commencement ceremony today at Yankee stadium and Grad-Alley yesterday at Washington Square Park. Empire State was lit in Violet and White in honor of NYU’s 184th Commencement on 17th May, 2016. Have a look at this beauty –

IMG_20160518_003526

IMG_20160518_012753

And the most important thing of the past week –

I met Jason Silva.

He is another Silva I met this week. This man is awesome! I have been following his Shots of Awe since last couple of years now and I am amazed by his thoughts, the way he portrays and expresses them. His Shots of Awe videos leave me speechless almost every single time. He was walking down the streets of Manhattan. I was on a phone call when I saw him. I don’t know when I cut the call and just went to him –

“Jason Silva?”
“Yes” *smiles*
We talked for about 6-7 minutes. Now I saw Leonardo DiCaprio this week at Marquee and I did not take a picture with him, but this is Jason! How could I not! I can die in peace now, literally.

20160517_191447

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 2.06.32 PM

PS: Exams have ended and I plan to resume with Poem for a Word. Try and stop by at Washington Square Park. And I am planning to join Handball clubs around the city. Let me know if you know of any.

PPS: It is Wednesday today and I am looking for a date for ball room at Bryant Park tonight. Who’s up!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2016 in Zindagy Weekly

 

Leave a Reply

 
