RSS

Two and a half steps

11 Mar

two and a half steps

Taking two and a half steps,
Placing an order for donuts,
I fell for the girl at the cash counter;
Smiling at me, looking into my eyes locking the stare,
She tore the bill from the machine,
And as I started surfing in the wave of thoughts
Of how she would –
Wake me up with that smile,
And make my day with that smile,
Hug me tight as I come back home,
And kiss me to sleep with that smile –
Her phone rang with, “Husband” calling
And she answered it quick, with that smile

Turning back from the counter
Thinking probably it’s not my day,
Smiling at my bag of donuts,
I started walking away

Two and a half steps
And I fell for this girl walking towards a table
She was struggling with her bags,
Blonde hair
flying at the mercy of the air,
Our eyes met around the aisle
Just for a second or two, but it seemed like a while
And as she passed by me, she pushed a smile,
Turning back to look at her
I started surfing in those waves again,
I thought how she’d make me breakfast everyday,
maybe even cupcakes and milkshakes in month of May,
and how we’ll snuggle and cuddle and sleep in spoon
in the diamond-lit sky of the dark new moon,
and how she’d kiss, a sip of the coffee and a sip of me
I thought of how our lives would be,
She placed the bags at the table and kissed that guy,
I fell from that imaginary surf board as the wave passed by

I shrugged and sighed and slid a smile,
And walked outta the door, following that aisle,
Thought I’d just float for a while in that lull of pain,
Two and half steps,
And guess what –
A wave…
A wave hit me again!

-KK

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 11, 2017 in Poems

 

Leave a Reply

 
