RSS

Between you, me and New York

28 May

unnamed (2)

I’ve told the trees of Central Park
the story of how I met you,
and they were listening intently, to every word I spoke, without blinking,
like you do

I’ve told the Hudson about those nights we’ve spent together,
laying on your bed, under my blanket,
naked,
Yes, I know I should have skipped that last part

Brooklyn Bridge knows a couple of things about you –
not much, just the basic ones like
how many sugars you take in your coffee
and how you hate pineapples, apart from on pizza,
how you love wearing my used t-shirts
and how you keep re-reading my handwritten letters,
how you used to smile when I hugged you from behind
and how you used to melt in my arms when I kissed you at night

They all ask me why aren’t we together,
I smile and tell them –
“We don’t want to break the promise we never made”

~KK

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2017 in Poems

 

2 responses to “Between you, me and New York

  1. Akash Patil

    May 28, 2017 at 11:23 pm

    One of your best ones! 😀

     
  2. Kamakshi

    May 29, 2017 at 4:55 am

    It could’ve been titled between you ,me and America had you travelled. 😂

     

Leave a Reply

 
