RSS

Daily Archives: August 7, 2017

Week 36: The One with a Broken Cup

Ever thought about why do we indulge ourselves with mindless distractions? What is it that we are avoiding? Is it something that we are avoiding because we are afraid of the answer or its consequences? Or if we don’t know the answer at all and are afraid to never find it? I know I am struggling with a few such questions, and I don’t know when will I be able to untangle those threads. It is important to talk these things out. It is important to have a human connection, a conversation. It is important to ask for a hug when one wants one. Conversations help. The one with Nikita helped this evening. You haven’t met her, have you? Here, say Hi to Nikita. And till you do that, let me be right back with my coffee…

I kept my coffee in the microwave for 2 minutes and it spilled over a bit. Lesson learned the hard way – don’t keep your coffee cup (that is more than 3/4th full) in the microwave for that long, 1-1.5 minutes is enough.

This reminds me – I broke a cup. This afternoon I was cleaning the utensils and a cup slipped from my hands. I know it is not a big deal but this is the first time I broke a cup (or any utensil) in my life. Mumma, if you’re reading this, don’t worry I neatly gathered all the broken pieces, threw them in the bin and vacuum cleaned the floor.

On a completely different note – remember I told you about a typewriter I bought from Ohio? For some reason, I had not put up a picture last week. Here it is –

typewriter

Lovely, isn’t it? Yet to publish a poem I weave out of this one.

Moving on, I have a big meeting day after tomorrow, and a rehearsal meeting (for the big meeting) tomorrow. Honestly I’m a bit stressed about that. Will work for a few hours tonight. I realize I haven’t told you anything about the last week yet. It went by pretty fast. All I remember is going to the gym three days, eating salad for lunch twice, eating Thai twice, attending a quiz, and sleeping in very early (around 9:30 pm) on Friday. Weekend was spent resting, cleaning the house, watching FRIENDS and riding the bike. Woke up very early today, around 6:30 am (it’s a Sunday!). Went for a bike ride around 8 am, felt good. You see how I did not mention a single good conversation I had with anyone throughout the week? Because I had none. There were many superficial ones, the ones which I don’t remember at all. The ones that were majorly office small talk. You can do all the right things, go to all the right places, but if you don’t have meaningful conversation(s) with people in-person, it becomes very difficult to be in the right frame of mind.

I am planning to make a trip to India this December. Not very sure if I want to yet. Let’s see how that thought ripens by next weekend.

PS: I need a hug. It’s been a while since I got one. I might not ask for it in-person if I don’t know you that well, but if you are reading this – the next time you see me, give me tight hug.

PPS: It is 8:30 pm, I shouldn’t have had that coffee!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2017 in Zindagy Weekly